Fremont City School District
Fremont City School District


The Learning & Liberty Foundation is a foundation governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of school officials and members of the community. The purpose of the foundation is to enrich and enhance the educational opportunities which are provided by Fremont City Schools Board of Education. The articles of incorporation and bylaws serve as guides for the operation of the foundation.

Mission Statement

It is the mission of The Learning and Liberty Foundation of the Fremont City Schools to enhance the learning process, increase educational opportunities and encourage instructional innovation and creativity by generating and distributing financial and other resources. The objectives of The Learning and Liberty Foundation are:

I. To enhance educational programs and classroom instruction in the Fremont City Schools. Grant proposals will be reviewed by the foundation’s board of trustees within the stated purposes of the foundation.

II. To provide opportunities for organizations, businesses, foundations and individuals to contribute time, energy, expertise, money and other resources to The Learning and Liberty Foundation of the Fremont City Schools.

III. To invest and manage a permanent fund (for use of interest only) which will be of increasing value to the Fremont City Schools. This fund will provide enduring resources for the proposed programs, ideas and school projects designed to benefit the Fremont City Schools.

Board of Trustees

Jon C. Detwiler, Chairperson

Tracy Lytle, First Vice Chairperson

Charles E. Hull, M.D., Second Vice Chairperson

Robert L. Overmyer, Treasurer

Joseph F. Albrechta, Trustee

Suzanne Brickner, Trustee

Arthur Bucci, Jr., Trustee

Melissa Hanson, Trustee

Elizabeth Kiser, Trustee

Violetta Rhea, Trustee

Sarah Schott, Trustee

Braxton White, Trustee

Nancicarol Woleslagel, Trustee

Cindy Young, Trustee


vStudents of the Month

The Learning & Liberty Foundation and Old Fort Banking Company are proud sponsors of the “Students of the Month” program. Students in grades 1-8 are selected by classroom teachers and recognized during FCS Board of Education Meetings throughout the academic year. 

Congratulations to the 2017-2018 Students of the Month:


Abram Stiltner, Emmanuel Heidelburg, Terrelle Finley, Saebra Cooks, Madison Wagner, Jarek Mackey, Kurt Scharbach


Hanna Layne, Mateo Gonzalez, Starazaya Carter, Abigail Lindenberger, Collinn Ollom, Emma Thompson, Roemellia Gomez-Garcia


Rubi Almaguer, Taylor Coonrod, Jaxson Mackey, Lilyana Reyes-Rodriguez, Ruby Smith, Kenzie Schwochow, Quinn Wolf


Ciera Crum, Maryanna Fetterman, Carmen Johnson, Anisa Killian, Ashtyn Marsee, Jaydy Martinez, Karen Martinez


Ella Durbin, Logan Kilgore, Kayla Lewis, Zavier Lopez, Isaac Sanchez, Addison Schoch, Lyndi Wolf


Andrea Boedecker, Julian Chavez, Jenna Gooslin, Rebecca Jensen, Hannah Rios, Willow Rodriguez


vRoss High School Scholarships

The Learning & Liberty Foundation awards scholarships to seniors on an annual basis. Congratulations to the 2018 scholarship recipients:

  • Sam Long – Ross High Scholarship
  • Victoria Miller – Ross High Scholarship
  • Sarah Schott – Ross High Scholarship
  • Ross High Scholarship (Only 3 this year)
  • Jasmine Taquba – David B. Brickner Scholarship
  • Andrew Edmonds - Ross High School Positive Attitude Scholarship
  • Sarah Schott - Ross High School Positive Attitude Scholarship 

vAcademic Olympics

Each year students in grades 6-12 are recognized by The Learning & Liberty Foundation for academic excellence. Students are recognized based upon grade point averages during awards programs and receive academic pins/charms, certificates and bronze, silver and gold medals. The Gold Medal Banquet is held on an annual basis in order to recognize high school students with a cumulative 4.0 grade point average over the two semesters of the school year. Thank you to Croghan Colonial Bank and The Learning & Liberty Foundation for sponsoring this event. The 2017 Gold Medal Recipients are as follows:

Oakley Alliman, Silvestre Alonso, Kirsten Baker, Lilah Baumann, David Boda, Travis Bowlus, Sunni Brandon, Emily Burns, Caleb Calvillo, Aaron Chavez, Dillon Christopher, Victoria Cole, Carl Cooper, Sarah Cooper, Selena Cooper, Charles Corthell, John Cronin, Mason Dewalt, Aaron Dorobek, Cole Druckenmiller, Andrew Edmonds, McKela Elder, Andrew Evans, Noah Evans, Alyssa Farrier, Emmah Fitzgerald, MaKennah Fitzherald, Sabrina Flores, Jared Jox, Isaac Fraley, Benjamin Gedeon, Mikayla Glaspy, Kayla Glotzbecker, Lillian Gonzalez, Brianna Goodwin, Cole Goodwin, Morgan Hawk, Audrey Hawkins, Isabelle Held, Jarrett Hetrick, Kimberly Hetrick, Rachel Hofacker, Noah Hotz, Victoria Humberger, Madison Hunt, Jakob Jaeger, Emma Jahns, Hunter Jones, Tyler Jones, Kortini Joseph, Alyssa Karr, Emma Kaufmann, Savannah Krueger, Olivia Lagrou-Godfrey, Logan Lamalie, Logan Laurer, Hayley Lawrence, Kennedy Leutenegger, Shelby Level, Samuel Long, John Lotycz, Connor Malan, Alyssa Meyer, Cayden Michael, Justine Michael, Mary Miller, Victoria Miller, Mason Minch, Isaac Minor, Mitchell Mullholand, Evan Oglesbee, Daniella Ortiz, Mann Patel, Jacob Paxson, Tyler Peck, Tiffany Peck, Reagan Reau, Brandon Richter, Abbi Riedmaier, Ashtyn Schneider, Jacob Schott, Sarah Schott, Alyssa Sebastian, Miranda Shetzer, Tristan Siedenburg, Matthew Sieving, Carrianne Smith, Dylan Smith, Jacob Snell, Lillie Swinehart, Hailey Taylor, Marissa Terraza-Cobo, Olivia Thomas, Zamara Tucker, Paige Turner, Adriana Vasquez, Sara Wadsworth, Sarah Watson, Taylor Weickert, Trevor Weickert, Jackson Weissinger, Zachary Whipple, Braxton White, Sarah Widman, Carolyn Wiersma, McKenna Willey, Nathan Willis, Dylan Witt, Merica Wolf, Cristian Zaragoza, Sydney Zoller, and Gabriella Zuniga

vFCS Grant Opportunities

The Learning & Liberty Foundation awards instructional grants to teachers for a maximum of $500.00. Grants are intended to enhance the learning opportunities in the classroom by providing resources for the creative teachers for a long-term project or special learning activities. The 2017-2018 grant recipients:

Teacher Name Building
Tracie Dye Fremont Middle School
Christina French Hayes Elementary School
Dana Hanson Stamm Elementary School
Abby Markwith Washington Elementary School
Carrie Meyer Fremont Middle School
Jennifer Morris Lutz Elementary School
Bradley Scherzer Ross High School

The Learning and Liberty Foundation extends appreciation to our 2016-2017 Donors:

Jennifer Abdoo, The Family of David Brickner, Croghan Colonial Bank, Christina French, Richard LaFountain, Randall Macko, Tamara Martin, Dr. Traci McCaudy, Donna Miller, Mosser Construction, Lori Nossaman, Old Fort Banking Company, Erin Parker, Regina Reed, Rhonda Schmidt, Denise Sloma, Bridget Smith, Christine Smith.

Fremont City School District



Learning &

Annual Report


Crystal Apple Award

Informational Brochure & Donor Form

Instructional Grant Application Form

Meeting Minutes

Fremont City School District
District Office  |  500 W. State Street, Suite A - Fremont, Ohio  43420  |  (419) 332-6454  |  | CopyRight©2017/2018 FCS | Information Subject to change.