Community Roundup

Submitted11:45 a.m. ET May 22, 2017



(Photo: Submitted) CONNECTTWEETLINKEDINCOMMENTEMAILMORE

BCS eighth graders visit NASA

OAK HARBOR - On Wednesday, 30 eighth-grade students from Benton-Carroll-Salem schools visited the NASA Plum Brook Station facility in Sandusky. The visit included a tour of the Space Power Facility, which contains the world's largest space environment facility and the world's most powerful acoustic test chamber. The students were also given a tour of the In-Space Propulsion Facility, capable of testing full-scale launch vehicles and rocket engines.

Ross band, choir rated 'superior'

FREMONT - Fremont Ross High School Music Department took two groups to the Ohio Music Educators' Association (OMEA) State Adjudication event, and both received Superior ratings.

The Fremont Ross Symphonic Band, directed by John Calhoun, performed at Findlay High School on April 21. The Fremont Ross Concert Choir, led by Mr. Dennis Pita, performed on Saturday, April 22 at Van Buren High School.

Fremont Ross Symphonic Band 2017 members were: Kennedy Leutenegger, Mary Miller, Cassidy Ratliff, Aubri Jaeger, Sabrina Flores, Emma Jahns, Shelby Level, Alanna Borjas, Sarah Widman, Alissa Endicott, Yasmine Cortez, Carianne Smith, Olivia DeRodes, Madisyn Brown, Hannah Hamons, Alyssa Huffman, Alayna Killmer, Brooke Nofzinger, Dennis Pence, Jena Willey, Kaylee Nevarez, Taylor Sachs, Braxton White, Cierra Gonzales; Hailey Taylor, Adam Killmer, Cristian Silvas, Ian Craig, Ethan Carnicom, Abigail Havice, Sunni Brandon, Emily Morris, Olivia Thomas, Miranda Shetzer, McKayla Henry, Rachel Hofacker, Alex Thatcher, Cole Druckenmiller, Mikayla Glaspy, Lillian Gonzalez, Christian Garcia, Fallon Powell, Michael Borjas, Carolyn Wiersma, Brianna Fraley, Oliver Ellis, Isaac Fraley, Josh Recker, Jovan Lewis, Jacob Neiling, Josh Pridemore, Trenton Perkins, Brandon Bliss, Zach Baker, Brent Bliss, Brandon Richter Logan Kropp, Morgan Urban, Brandon Sabo, Luke O'Brien, Josiah Cook, Elijah Cook, Evan Ortiz and Jack Hineline.

Fremont Ross Concert Choir 2017 members were: Zariyah Baynard, Austin Bliss, Sunni Brandon, Noah Brickner, Aaron Chavez, Katlin Cleveland, Teyon Cole, Paisley DeFriece, Alicia Diaz, Samantha Elder, Julina Emde, Riley Harkness, Jacob Herr, Gabrielle Kalil, Soyoung Kim, Jovan Lewis, Kalin McCann, Mary Miller, |Kaylee Nevarez, Cassandrah Ottney, Jennifer Rimelspach, Taylor Sachs, Taylor Smith, Sierra Tatum, Madalynn Thayer, Lawrence Tompkins, Anahi Torres, Kaden White, Tyler Wyatt and Merica Wolf.

Wheel-a-thon raises \$6K for disabled

PORT CLINTON - Pathway Inclusion Center, a local nonprofit, RFS Charitable Foundation, the title sponsor, held their 2nd Annual Wheel-a-thon on May 6 at Lakeview Park. More than 100 people attended and over 60 swag bags full of toys, information on local resources, and gift cards were distributed to children and individuals with disabilities. The event raised over \$6,000 for the organization.

Pathway plans to open an inclusive child care center that offers summer camps and therapy services. For more information, visit pathwayinclusion.org.

Fremont FFA member wins state honor

The Ohio FFA held its 89th annual state convention in Columbus on May 4 and 5 and more than 7,000 members from across the state attended.



Kaitlynn Kieffer stands with Dave Rapp, the Fremont Ross FFA Adviser. (Photo: Submitted)

At the convention, Fremont FFA member Kaitlynn Kieffer was awarded the State FFA Degree, an honor given to the top 2 percent of FFA students in Ohio. Kieffer is a fourthyear Fremont FFA member. Kaitlynn, the daughter of Dave and Chris Kieffer, raises and rides horses and works at Gries Seed and Feed. She also served as the Vice President of the Fremont FFA Chapter for the 2016-17 school year.

2 area seniors among Ohio's 'Best and Brightest'

TIFFIN - The Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) recognized 83 of Ohio's "Best and Brightest" top seniors from each Ohio county during the 28th Annual Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Awards Program held April 12.

The North Point Educational Service Center award recipients honored included Nicholas Bossetti from Danbury High School representing Ottawa County, and Kelsey Johnson from Lakota High School representing Sandusky County.